Now in Minsk   The weather in Belarus

Accueil UNESCO


Membership in UNESCO since 12 May 1954

Membership on the Executive Board: current term expires in 2021


Permanent Delegation established: January 27, 1962

Permanent Delegate, Ambassador:  H.E. Mr, Igor Fissenko (since March 25, 2019)

National Commission:

Creation: 1956

President: H.E. Mr. Vladimir Makei, Minister of Foreign Affairs (since August 2013)

Secretary-General: Ms. Natalya Schasnovich


The Director-General’s visits: 1991 – Amadou-Mahtar M’Bow, 1998 – Federico Mayor Zaragoza, 2002  – Kōichirō Matsuura, 2014  – Irina Bokova.


UNESCO Chairs: 7

2014: Chair on Vocational Education in the Sphere of Information and Communication Technologies (ICTs) of Persons with Special Needs at the Institute of Information Technologies of the he Belarusian State University, Minsk

2011: Chair in Science Education with Emphasis on Natural Sciences at the Belarusian State University, Minsk

2003: Chair in Information Technologies and Law at the National Centre of Legal Information, Minsk

1999: Chair on Peace and Tolerance through Languages and Civic Education at the Minsk State Linguistic University

1997: Chair in Culture of Peace and Democracy at the National Institute of Higher Education of the Republic of Belarus, Minsk

1996: Chair on Energy Conservation and Renewable Energies at the Belarusian State Polytechnic Academy, Minsk

1994: Chair in Radiation and Environmental Management at the International Sakharov Environmental University, Minsk


Associated Schools: 23 institutions

10 primary/secondary schools, 10 secondary and 3 vocational and technical institutions

Joined the ASP Network in 1967


UNESCO Clubs:  1 National Association and 58 Clubs


Biosphere Reserves: 3

2003: West Polesie Transboundary Biosphere Reserve, with Poland and Ukraine

1993: Belovezhskaya Puschcha

1978: Berezinskiy


World Heritage Sites: 4 (3 cultural; 1 natural)


2005: Architectural, Residential and Cultural Complex of the Radziwill Family at Nesvizh

2005: Struve Geodetic Arc, jointly with Estonia, Finland, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Norway, Russian Federation, Sweden and Ukraine

2000: Mir Castle Complex


1979: Belovezhskaya Pushcha / Białowieża Forest, jointly with Poland


Tentative List:  5 properties

2004: Augustow Canal

2004: Saviour Transfiguration Church and St. Sophia Cathedral in the town of Polatsk

2004: SS. Boris and Gleb (Kalozha) Church in the city of Hrodna

2004: Edifices for Worship of Fortress Type in Belarus, Poland and Lithuania

2004: Worship wooden architecture (17th -18th centuries) in Polesye


Intangible Heritage Lists: 3 elements 

Representative List

2018: Celebration in honor of the Budslaŭ icon of Our Lady (Budslaŭ fest)

Urgent Safeguarding List

2009: Rite of the Kalyady Tsars (Christmas Tsars)

2019: Spring Rite of Jurauski Karahod


Memory of the World Register: 1 inscription

2009: Radzwills’ Archives and Niasvizh (Nieśwież) Library Collection, submitted in cooperation with Finland, Lithuania, Poland, Russian Federation and Ukraine


Anniversaries UNESCO is associated with in:


300th anniversary of the birth of Regina Salomea Rusiecka (1718-1763), with the support of Lithuania, Poland and Russian Federation

200th anniversary of the birth of Stanisław Moniuszko, composer, conductor and teacher (1819-1872), jointly with Lithuania and Poland, with the support of Latvia and Romania

150th anniversary of the birth of Ferdynand Ruszczyc, painter, graphic artist, theater designer and educator (1870 — 1936), jointly with Poland with the support of Lithuania and Russian Federation.

100th anniversary of the Belarusian State University (1921), Belarus with the support of Latvia, Lithuania, Poland and Russian Federation.